I’ve never been to Rochester, and found it is a great town! My hotel was in the middle of downtown, just two blocks from The Mayo Clinic.

Right across the street was the shops at University Square, a small mall filled with unique shops. Counterpoint was just one of the stores. I loved the window, how retro! I remember Marimekko from the 60’s and 70’s.

Outside the University Square, I found a courtyard. Since it is summer, the dusk came late. I enjoyed many evenings in this courtyard.

 

The iron fountain is certainly unique and amazing in this close-up photo.

This little fellow had fun running to the water, touching it and running back to his mom.

Semva Art Gallery was also in the Courtyard. Their window displays were inspiring.

I love this design. . .I’m thinking quilts!

 

The courtyard was filled with flowers. This petunia was so bright, it almost glowed.

As I looked around, I noticed a Celtic design around this tree.

Another great quilting idea. . .

While I was in Rochester, a downtown festival, Rochesterfest was happening at the same time. I enjoyed the nightly music, the parade and the Art Festival.  One evening, the downtown was filled with booths. 

This booth featured woven rugs and blankets. They were all Peruvian designs, all of them beautiful.

One booth featured iron work. This copper birdbath had a beautiful patina.

 

Yet another booth had glass. . .these hand blown balls were fascinating.