It as been so much fun, following Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks Sew-along!

Here’s a link to the very first post, in case you need any of the patterns:

http://www.quiltmaker.com/blogs/quiltypleasures/2016/03/100-blocks-sampler-sew-along-block-1/

 

I’m honored to have my block, Serendipity, block #656 as part of the sew-along. I love my  block in the 6″ size!

I decided to create it in some bright summer colors.  First, pull some Serendipity fabric, to audition my color choices. I love this fabric, it shades from light to medium to dark, all on one piece of fabric.  No more searching for the perfect light or dark, it’s all right here!

I know I’m going to use the golden color, but am not sure if I will add purple with it or the blue.

Untitled-1

 

Hmmm, choices!

Here’s the purple with the gold.

Untitled-2

and the blue with the gold. . . . I still can’t decide!

Untitled-3

Well, the only thing to do is to press the fabric, cut out both colors and decide from there.

Untitled-4

 

Untitled-5

I’ve decided to use the blue and gold, just like a summer sky! I also decided to move the shading around, love this option!

Now to sew together.

First, I like to piece all the triangle units together.  I press the seams open and trim off the “ears” to make the piecing a piece of cake.

Untitled-6

Untitled-7

 

 

Piecing together, loving the colors!

Untitled-8

 

Getting the corners sewing together.

Untitled-9

 

All the “units” are together.  Now to sew into rows.

Untitled-10

 

Almost there!

Untitled-11

 

I need to press my block and then I’m all done and I love it!

Thanks Quiltmaker!

Untitled-12

 

 

