I’m thrilled to be included in Volume 5 of Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks From Today’s Top designers!     (Love seeing my block included on the cover!)

QMMS 120022 COVER shadow 500 Next Week: Quiltmakers 100 Blocks Blog Tour

My block, COMPASS POINT, was inspired by a compass rose and my love of half-square triangles.

The block features Serendipity, my new fabric line for Troy Corp’s Riverwoods Collection.

I love this new collection!  It features a gradated tone-on-tone texture that gradates from light to medium to dark and back again. A sneak peek at the fabric is below.

Here’s another sneak peek at the ad, featuring Serendipity. LOVE, love, love all the colorways!

The Compass Pointes block has perfect placement for the light, medium and dark values in the Serendipity colorway.

It has been so much fun to play with this block and try out different colorways:

 Blue and gold combination

 Different value placement, dark on outer edge

As I played with the different colors, I wondered how the blocks would look it a quilt. . . I suspected the angles in the block would create the illusion of curves.

I first placed the lighter blue/gold combination side by side. . . yes!  Beautiful illusions of curves!

Now to try alternating the light blue and darker blue blocks.  Oh, love this too!

Next to play with the multi-colored block and light blue block.  Lovely!

How about the multi-colored block set side-by-side?  I also rotated the same colors to the center and love the illusion of curves and the illusion of transparency that is created.

This block has so many possibilities!

Now here’s some exciting news!  One lucky blog reader will win a copy of the newest issue of Quiltmakers’ 100 Blocks, Vol. 5!    To enter, today, on May 4th, please email me at karen@karencombs.com .  Be sure to include your shipping information.  On May 5th, I will reveal the winner, here!

Good luck and thanks for visiting my blog!

 

 

 

Congratulations to Candy Crain of San Juan Capistrano, CA! !

She is the winner of the Quiltmaker 100 Blocks, Vol 5!

