I enjoyed my visit with the Quilters of South Carolina so much!  As I traveled from Charleston to the Pieceful Hearts guild in Augusta, Ga, I stopped at Drayton Hall.

This plantation is located just outside Charleston. The main house, pictured here, is considered one of the finest examples of Georgian-Palladian architecture in the United States. The grounds represent one of the most significant, undisturbed historic landscapes in America.

drayton-hall131

Drayton Hall is different. It is not restored to the vision of those who lived centuries after it was built. It is preserved, in near-original condition.   Drayton Hall is an artifact that has survived the American Revolution, the Civil War, the earthquake of 1886, hurricanes like Hugo, and maybe most surprisingly today, urban sprawl.

Built between 1738 and 1742, Drayton Hall is often described in superlative terms.  It is well deserved.  It is an amazing house!

Throughout the house, I found hand carved moldings that date to the home’s construction.

drayton-hall12

 

drayton-hall

Everywhere I looked, I found inspiration for quilting designs.

The gate to the lower level of the house is beautiful.

drayton-hall1

The grounds are beautiful, filled with Live Oaks, draped with Spanish Moss.

drayton-hall4

I visited while the azaleas were blooming and their color was stunning.

drayton-hall11

As I toured the house and walked the grounds, I was struck by the beauty and grandeur of Drayton Hall.

The reflection pond was a perfect place to take this photo. I love the play of sky, water, house, lawn and trees.

drayton-hall2

As I looked around, I realized I needed to be careful where I was walking!  I almost stepped on a “teen-age” alligator enjoying the sun!

Drayton Hall

