I love to travel, but I also love my time at home. I especially enjoy decorating our house for Christmas.

This weekend, I’ve been decorating with the help of our son Josh and my husband Rick. Each year we put a huge Christmas tree on our front porch. I move the furniture from the sitting area of the porch and we put the Christmas tree in that space.

porch - summer

Our front porch in the summer

It is quite a production! Rick and Josh have to wrestle the tree from the attic, downstairs, out the front door and onto the porch. One year we did not put up the tree and got lots of complaints from the neighbors! They love to see the tree on the porch and missed it. Okay, that settles it, we have to put it out every year. Wonder if we can get their help?

 Porch @ Christmas

Porch at Christmas

Some of the furniture gets moved out of the way and some of it is used. I like to make use of the love seat, decorated with a seasonal pillow, throw, rug and presents. Since our porch is open to the weather, I opt for a throw that I can wash, rather than a quilt!

Love seat

The “presents” are made of metal!

 

The mailbox is another fun place to decorate.

Mailbox @ Christmas

This year, I decorated it with fresh greens, bells, large Christmas ornaments and ribbons.

I like to put several small Christmas trees around the house and I also like to keep the decorations simple, yet elegant.

christmas

On the mantle, I used large glass vases filled with red and gold ornaments with a simple garland. A small tree sits next to the fire place.

christmas

The decroating does not have to be expensive. The ornaments, the tree and the garland are from Hobby Lobby. I watch for a sale and buy them at half price.

 

I didn’t neglect decorating the kitchen. A cookin’ Santa and tree decorate part of the counter.

christmas santa

I placed another small lit tree on the counter. I used one of my decorative pots from the porch and used it for the small tree. It brings some Christmas cheer to the kitchen.

christmas

