This week, I had the honor of being featured on QNNtv.com’s newsletter.Cube2 pattern by Karen Combs They featured my quilt Cube2!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dear Quilting Friends,

A master at creating two-dimensional quilts that trick the eye into seeing three dimensions, Karen Combs used 60-degree diamonds to give an amazing illusion of depth in her quilt Cube2. How did she do it? Warm colors in the 3-D Churn Dash blocks pull the design forward and cool colors in the outer portion of the quilt draw the sides away from the center. This interplay enhances the illusion of depth in the quilt.  What amazing things quilters do with fabric!

Quilt Market always delivers excitement and beauty, and this fall Market was no exception. Taping our videos from Market gives me a chance to see what ingenious products are being introduced, and meeting with my friends at fabric companies and seeing the quilts our editors collect to run in our magazines makes for a lot of oh-ing and ah-ing.

And, as for the quilts on exhibit, once gain I was dazzled. I’ve shared pictures of some of my favorites on my blog. While there, you can check in on the progress of the Maasai quilt I’m making for my aunt. After a busy travel month in October, it’s great to have some sewing time!

Happy quilting,
Jodie Davis

 

