I’m a reader, always have been and always will be. Ever since I could read, I’ve had my nose in a book and always have a stack of books by my bed. Recently Emilie Richardson contacted me and offered to send me her newest book, Sister’s Choice.

Now, I have to admit, I’ve never read any of Emilie’s books, so I jumped at the chance.  I found the book delightful. Each of Emilie’s books in the Shenandoah Album Series has a title drawn from the name of a certain pattern of a quilt square.

As in Alice Walker’s The Color Purple, Sophia and Celie take fragments of torn clothes and curtains and piece them together creating the “Sister’s Choice” quilt square pattern. The strength of their relationship is comparable to that of the main characters in Sister’s Choice. In the same style, stories related to other quilt patterns make up this series of excellent books.

If you enjoy Jennifer Chiaverini’s “Elm Creek Quilt” series, you will love these books! I could not put it down.

Emilie also writes project books to go along with her novels. The “Quilt Along” series features quilts from the novels with complete and easy diagrams, beautiful illustrations and are very well done.

   

These books are available at Emilie’s website, your favorite bookstore, and online at Amazon or Barne’s and Noble.  A perfect gift for yourself or for your favorite quilting “bud”.

