Recently, I was in New York City to work on my new additions to Shade Cascade™.

I’m adding more colors for Fall Market. They look great and I can’t wait to show them this fall!

I love going into the City,it has an energy that I feel nowhere else. Just walking around is amazing.

 

When I got to the Garment District, the Empire State Building overtakes the skyline. I have to remind myself to look up and see what is in the sky.

 Sometimes when I look up, I am surprised by the details of the buildings or the surprises I see. It looks like a party is happening on the top of this building

The party is complete with palm trees!

 While in the City, I met a friend. We went to the play, Wicked. What is it about? 

Well.  .  .

Long before Dorothy drops in, two other girls meet in the Land of Oz. One, born with emerald green skin, is smart, fiery and misunderstood. The other is beautiful, ambitious and very popular. Wicked follows these two unlikely friends and college roomates grow into very different women: The Wicked Witch of the West and Glinda the Good Witch. 

My favorite song: Defying Gravity

We did some damage at the show!

Look at all Karen’s bags!

Cheryl did some damage as well!

 After seeing this amazing play, we were too excited to go to our hotel, so we visited Times Square. Another place filled with energy and at night, it is filled with lights!

Karen at Times Square!

 As we walked back to our hotel, I looked in the distance and spotted the Chrysler Building.

The next day, we met another friend for a working breakfast and then walked around Greenwich Village.

It is a beautiful part of the city, filled with lovely Brownstones. Inspiration was everywhere, like this beautiful mosaic masquerading as a doorway.

 Inside a resturant, I noticed this floor mosaic. This would make an amzing quilt!

 Surprising details everywhere.  These gargoyles look menacing.

While in the Village, we stopped at the Magnolia Bakery.

The bakery has been featured in movies and on TV. It is is credited with starting the “cupcake craze.”

Across the street from the Bakery, I spotted this shop, and loved the detail above the awing.

 Everywhere I look, I see amazing sights. This building seems to disappear into the sky.

As I flew home at dusk, I was able to take a photo of the City and Central Park.

 Flying into Nashville, the sky was gradated and was beautiful!

