I had a wonderful time with the Eastern Long Island guild. They are so friendly and fun!  Their guild is located on the North Fork of Long Islandand is simply beautiful. The area is filled with farms, fresh flower and vegetable stands, the ocean, dunes and beaches.

Before the guild meeting, I visited the Horton’s Point Lighthouse.

 I loved the detail on the top of the lighthouse.

 The plantings and garden around the lighthouse were beautiful.

The tiger lilies were stunning.

The coy were curious!

I also visited  Long Island Quilters Society. What a great guild! We had a wonderful time in the classes and at the lecture.

This morning, I’m headed from Long Island into Manhattan. I was going home this morning, but I got a call to look over my newest colors of Shade Cascade.

I’ve been working on them for months and the samples from the mill is ready for my approval. I’m excited to see them.

These new colors will be ready in time for the Fall Quilt Market in Houston in October.

After my visit to the office, I’ll be meeting my friend, Cheryl, in the Garment District.

 

We have decided to spend a few days together, enjoying the city. On Tuesday evening, we will be going to the play, Wicked at the Gershwin Theater.

It is the story of OZ, before Dorothy drops in:

Long before Dorothy drops in, two other girls meet in the Land of Oz. One, born with emerald green skin, is smart, fiery and misunderstood. The other is beautiful, ambitious and very popular. Wicked follows these two unlikely friends and college roomates grow into very different women: The Wicked Witch of the West and Glinda the Good Witch.

