Last week, while we visited Michigan, we went “back home” to our home town, Grand Ledge.  

I grew up in GL and so did my husband, Rick. We met in high school and were high school sweethearts.  We continued to live there after we were married, until we moved to Tennessee in 1990. While we were excited about our new lives in Tennessee, it was hard to leave GL.

Grand Ledge is a picturesque town, settled on the banks of the Grand River. The town’s name, inspired by the impressive ledges of rock, carved by the flow of the Grand River. It was incorporated as a village in 1871.

I believe my love of Victorian homes started as a child, living here and seeing all the beautiful Victorian homes along it’s wide streets.

In Victorian times, the town was renowned for its Health Spas and Hotels.  One of the first, and best known, hotels in the area was the Island House Hotel, which was established on the second of Grand Ledge’s seven islands, around 1878.  Three boats, the ‘Island Queen’ and the steamers ‘Lanota’ and ‘Swallow’, plied the waters of the Grand River, offering views of the beautiful Ledges and relief from the summer heat.  A wonderful Summer Amusement Park prided itself for a roller-coaster that spanned two of the seven islands in the Grand River.  Grand Ledge was one of “The” towns to visit in Michigan if one was inclined to travel during the summer months to cooler locations for a bit of fun.

None of the Island hotels survive, but the Grand Ledge Opera House was restored in recent years.

As a teenager, my first job was as a “popcorn girl” at the Sun Theater. All the popcorn I could eat!

Later, I worked at the Grand Ledge Library. My love of books and reading started as a young child. It was a perfect job for me!

The town has a wonderful artistic spirit and encourages its artists. It also have several festivals each year: Island Art Festival, Victorian Days. Color Cruise and Island Art Festival, Holiday Home Tours.

I love viewing the beautiful homes during the Holiday Home Tours.

 

The detail of this window would make a good quilt pattern.

I know my past has influenced my life now: my love of reading, interest in Victorian homes, art and nature all come from my life in Grand Ledge. It was fun to go back home, even for a few days.

 

 

