I’m on the road to California. I have the pleasure of teaching and lecturing for the Camarillo Quilters Association.

On Monday, I was up at 3am, off to the Nashville airport for an early morning flight. I arrived at the Bob Hope Airport in Burbank. This is a smaller airport than LAX and I always love seeing the name of the airport!

 

Working as a traveling quilt teacher is not for wimps. Here is my luggage as I’m waiting for the rental car shuttle. It may not look like much, but it adds up to about 130 pounds of gear. Yup, I handle all this myself.  . . . This is not all my gear, I had shipped my truck show and classes supplies ahead. Two large (and heavy) boxes were waiting for me at my hotel.

At their guild meeting on Tuesday morning, I presented my Quilts of Illusion lecture. Their guild is full of friendly, fun and very talented people. Their show and tell was inspiring!

After a nice lunch with several of their members, I had the afternoon free. On my hostess’s suggestion, I drove up to Santa Barbara, about 35 miles up the coast. The drive was along the ocean and was beautiful, but foggy.  There was a thick marine layer of clouds, but it cleared when I arrived at Santa Barbara.

I enjoyed walking around the wharf, looking at the views and enjoying the cool weather. . .it was 63 degrees!

 

Later this morning,  I’ll be teaching my Crystal Star class. I’ll post photos this evening.

